Berry Van Peer and Wayne Jones picked up titles as the 2023 Winmau Challenge Tour returned to action at the Marshall Arena, Milton Keynes on Friday.

Dutchman Van Peer saw off Dragutin Horvat 5-2 to secure the Event Ten crown, with Jones defeating Daniel Ayres by the same scoreline to secure victory in Event 11. 

Van Peer started his run to the title with a 5-2 victory over Steven Kirkham, and quickly followed that by beating Josh Church by the same scoreline. 

A convincing 5-1 win over Adam Jenkinson followed, before hard-fought last-leg victories over Lee Cocks and Ian MacKenzie put him into the quarter-finals. 

There, Van Peer demolished his compatriots Chris Landman and Arjan Konterman to set up the final showdown with Horvat, before going on to scoop the £2,500 top prize.

In a crazy run to the Event 11 title, veteran Jones came through his opening five matches in last-leg deciders, as he beat Carlo van Peer, Colin Osborne, Matthew Dennant, Adam Mould and Ciaran Teehan. 

He was then allowed some breathing room as he saw off Owen Maiden 5-2 and thrashed Cam Crabtree 5-1 in the semi-finals, before dispatching Ayres to claim the spoils.

It’s another double-header of Challenge Tour action on Saturday, with Events 12 and 13 taking place tomorrow, before Event 14 rounds off the action on Sunday. 

The top two players from the final 2023 Challenge Tour Order of Merit will secure a PDC Tour Card for 2024/25 and a place in the 2023/24 World Darts Championship.


About Post Author