Beau Greaves extended her lead at the top of the PDC Women’s Series Order of Merit with victory over Mikuru Suzuki on Saturday, while Fallon Sherrock also returned to the winner’s circle in Hildesheim.

The year’s third Women’s Series weekend began with Events Nine and Ten at Halle 39, and it was Greaves and Sherrock who shared the spoils on an entertaining day of action.

Greaves captured her 13th Women’s Series title with Event Nine success, before Sherrock warmed up for her title defence at next month’s Betfred Women’s World Matchplay with Event Ten glory.

The race for Women’s World Matchplay qualification concludes on Sunday, and Greaves will be the top seed at the Winter Gardens following her astonishing exploits over the last 12 months.

The Doncaster darter conceded just four legs en route to scooping the Event Nine crown, which she sealed with an emphatic 5-1 success over Japanese trailblazer Suzuki.

Greaves turned on the style in the latter stages of her clash against Suzuki, winning her last three legs in 14, 15 and 15 darts to prevail with a 95 average.

The 19-year-old averaged 98 and 96 in whitewash wins over Carina Staubitz and Amy Grant to kick off her campaign, and a hard-fought 4-2 success against Kirsty Hutchinson sealed her place in the quarter-finals.

Greaves continued her charge with a 5-0 demolition of Crissy Manley in the last eight, and despite an under-par display in the semi-finals, she raced to a 5-1 victory over Australia’s Corrine Hammond.

Suzuki, meanwhile, relinquished only three legs in reaching her fourth Women’s Series final of 2023, whitewashing the veteran duo of Deta Hedman and Lisa Ashton to scoop the £1,000 runner-up prize.

Ashton had edged out Sherrock in a dramatic last-leg decider to progress to the semi-finals, surviving a match dart at tops having breezed into a 4-1 lead at one stage.

However, Sherrock made amends in Event Ten, closing out a resounding 5-2 win over Irish youngster Robyn Byrne to secure her 11th Women’s Series title – and her first of 2023.

Sherrock – recently awarded an MBE in the 2023 King’s Birthday Honours list – overcame a number of high-profile names to claim her first Women’s Series success since June 2022.

The 28-year-old opened her challenge with successive whitewash wins against Emma Winkelmann and Hedman, and a routine 4-1 victory over Lorraine Winstanley saw her advance to the last eight.

Sherrock recovered from 3-2 down to deny Natalie Gilbert in a scrappy quarter-final tie, before she accounted for Aileen de Graaf in a repeat of last year’s Women’s World Matchplay decider.

Byrne drew first blood in the Event Ten showpiece, but after reeling off three consecutive legs in 18, 14 and 15 darts, Sherrock powered to victory to cap off a memorable few weeks.

“That meant a lot,” reflected Sherrock. “Now I’ve got that one win, I feel like there’s some pressure off my shoulders.

“My form coming into this has been really good, but it’s a totally atmosphere when you come here, so it’s about getting back to basics, and hopefully going forward there’s more glimpses of my top form.

“If you had told me five years ago that I’d be getting an MBE for helping the sports of darts, I would never have believed it.

“I’m so proud of myself. I’m really thankful and hopefully it encourages more women to take up the sport, because look what the Women’s Series has done – the standard is better than ever.”

Sherrock’s Event Ten triumph saw her climb above Byrne on the Order of Merit, but the Irish youngster is poised to feature in July’s Women’s World Matchplay after another strong showing in Hildesheim.

Event Seven winner Byrne dumped out Ashton and Suzuki to reach her third Women’s Series final of 2023, and she also overcame Paula Jacklin, who ended Greaves’ bid for back-to-back titles in the last 16.

Sunday’s Women’s Series double-header will see Events 11-12 take place at Halle 39, with coverage streamed live on PDCTV from 0900 BST.

The top two players from the final PDC Women’s Series Order of Merit will qualify to compete in the 2023/24 World Darts Championship, alongside the winner of the 2023 Betfred Women’s World Matchplay.

The top eight players on the rolling Women’s Series Order of Merit after Event 12 will qualify for the 2023 Betfred Women’s World Matchplay, which takes place on Sunday July 23.

Lorraine Winstanley provisionally occupies the eighth and final spot with two events remaining, while Noa-Lynn van Leuven, Katie Sheldon and Laura Turner are among the chasing pack.

See full event draw and results in the Match Centre.

Follow live match stats through DartConnect.

2023 PDC Women’s Series
Saturday June 24 – Halle 39, Hildesheim
Event Nine
Mikuru Suzuki 5-1 Laura Turner
Lisa Ashton 5-4 Fallon Sherrock
Beau Greaves 5-0 Crissy Manley
Corrine Hammond 5-2 Lorraine Hyde

Mikuru Suzuki 5-0 Lisa Ashton
Beau Greaves 5-1 Corrine Hammond

Beau Greaves 5-1 Mikuru Suzuki

Event Ten
Aileen de Graaf 5-1 Priscilla Steenbergen
Fallon Sherrock 5-3 Natalie Gilbert
Mikuru Suzuki 5-2 Evonne Taylor
Robyn Byrne 5-2 Paula Jacklin

Fallon Sherrock 5-2 Aileen de Graaf
Robyn Byrne 5-4 Mikuru Suzuki

Fallon Sherrock 5-2 Robyn Byrne


About Post Author